• Switch Edition

Super Rugby is the top-level southern hemisphere club tournament, featuring franchise teams from New Zealand, South Africa and Australia.

The Super 14's development began in 1996 with the inaugural Super 10 tournament with the title contested by Waikato, Auckland, Otago and North Harbour from New Zealand, Natal Sharks, Transvaal and Northern Transvaal from South Africa, Queensland and New South Wales from Australia and the Samoan national team.

The Super 10 ran for three seasons before being expanded to the Super 12 with the advent of professionalism in 1995. As a result franchise sides from New Zealand, South Africa and Australia were formed - the Crusaders, Blues, Hurricance, Chiefs and Highlanders from New Zealand, the Bulls, Sharks, Cats and Stormers from South Africa and the Reds, Waratahs and Brumbies from Australia.

The Super 12 continued to grow in popularity until 2004, when it was announced that a fourth Australian team, the Western Force, and a fifth South African team, the Cheetahs, would join the league as it was expanded to the current Super 14 model.

At the end of the regular season the top four placed teams go into a knock-out competition with the top two sides claiming home advantage in the semi-finals. The highest place finisher in the regular season then plays host to the final.

Super 10

Year Winner
1993 Transvaal
1994 Queensland
1995 Queensland

Super 12

Year Scores
1996 Blues 45-21 Natal
1997 Blues 23 -7 ACT Brumbies
1998 Blues 13 -20 Crusaders
1999 Highlanders 19-24 Crusaders
2000 ACT Brumbies 19-20 Crusaders
2001 ACT Brumbies 36-6 Sharks
2002 Crusaders 31-13 ACT Brumbies
2003 Blues 21-17 Crusaders
2004 ACT Brumbies 47-38 Crusaders
2005 Crusaders 35-25 Waratahs

Super 14

Year Scores
2006 Crusaders 19-12 Hurricanes
2007 Bulls 20-19 Sharks
2008 Crusaders 20-12 Waratahs
2009 Bulls 61-12 Chiefs
2010 Bulls 25-17 Stormers

Super Rugby

Year Scores
2011 Reds 18-13 Crusaders
2012 Chiefs 37-6 Sharks

Live Scores