Graham Henry hit with misconduct charge
May 23, 2013
World Cup-winning coach Graham Henry has been working alongside Blues coach Sir John Kirwan © Getty Images
Former All Blacks coach Graham Henry has been charged with misconduct for his comments in the wake of the Blues' 23-3 Super Rugby loss to the Crusaders on Saturday.
Henry, who works as a technical advisor with the Auckland-based side, said that the TV match official was "probably a blind TMO" after two controversial rulings and added that a yellow card awarded to lock Culum Retallick for deliberately knocking down a pass was "bullshit" and that it was "ludicrous" that wing Frank Halai wasn't awarded a penalty try in a separate incident.
SANZAR, the umbrella body governing rugby in South Africa, New Zealand and South Africa, announced today that Henry would have to face a disciplinary hearing on Sunday.
Henry is no stranger to controversy having previously alleged match-fixing took place at the 2007 Rugby World Cup and his latest outburst came just a week after the Stormers were hit with a hefty fine after being found guilty of misconduct and bringing the game into disrepute for abusing a match official.
Last year's thrashing at the hands of Wales was not the first time England have fallen to their rivals. Scrum Sevens looks at whether they have bounced back the following year
With just two rounds left in the 2014 championship, the intensity cranks up a notch at Twickenham. Tom Hamilton previews the weekend's action
"I had a perfect record against England as did a few other Welshmen. England always seemed to bring the best out of us." John Taylor on the age-old rivalry
Are the margins between the teams in the Six Nations getting smaller year-on-year? Huw Richards gives some answers